Pages Menu

Community news for the Quincy, Washington, area since 1949

Categories Menu

Posted on Mar 5, 2015

Fire district honors its volunteers

Local firefighters were honored this past weekend at the Grant County Fire District No. 3’s annual awards banquet.

The banquet is the fire district’s opportunity to recognize volunteers for their service to the district as well as acknowledge the training they have put in, said Don Fortier, the fire district’s chief.

The number of hours the volunteers put in, as well as their accomplishments throughout the year, always amazes him, Fortier said.

“Which ends up being a huge benefit to the Quincy Valley,” he added.

The banquet was Feb. 28 at the Moose Lodge in Quincy. About 145 people, including staff, volunteers, retirees and guests and family members, attended the event.

Sieverkropp Farms Inc. was honored by the district as its 2014 Employer of the Year for its support of the district. Bob Sieverkropp allows the fire district to use some of his property for the district’s wildland firefighting refresher class each year, Fortier said.

The following volunteers were honored:

• Gabe McKay, Most Active Volunteer of the Year for the district. McKay also was the most active volunteer at the Quincy station.
• Luke Garrison, Chief’s Award. Fortier recognizes one volunteer each year, and the award’s recipient is announced the evening of the banquet.
• DeDe Brown, Rookie of the Year and Community Service Award.
• Ed Bews, most active volunteer at the Winchester station.
• Dan Christianson, most active volunteer at the Block-71 station.
• Ethan Williamson, most active volunteer at the Low Gap station.
• Doug Batey, most active volunteer at the George station.
• Sal Mugnos, most active volunteer at the Sunland Estates station.
• Randy Zolman, most active volunteer at the Crescent Bar station.

Firefighters also were acknowledged at the banquet for completing several classes. McKay, Charlie Reyes IV, Jeremy Rosenau, Lennon Rosenau and Andrew Stocker completed Firefighter I training, including hazmat ops. Benjamin Pace completed Firefighter II training. Sam Hart completed hazmat ops training. David Durfee and Dale Hille completed Fire Officer II training. And Jeremy Rosenau, Lennon Rosenau, Tanner Long, Stocker and Christianson completed basic emergency medical technician training.

In addition, Debra Bowling was honored for her 25 years of service to the district, and Duane Hardt was honored for his 30 years of service to the district. The district also honored the following firefighters for reaching 10 years of service: David Hubbard, Howard VanBaugh, Jorge Rios, Kent Bacon, Marcus Westra, Nigel McNeill and Russ Harrington.

Share This Story!Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPrint this pagePin on PinterestShare on Tumblr