Pages Menu

Community news for the Quincy, Washington, area since 1949

Categories Menu

Posted on Jul 30, 2015

Night of Sweeps at Ephrata Raceway Park

Cool weather greeted racers and fans at Ephrata Raceway Park on Saturday. However, four local drivers continued their hot streaks with sweeps in their respective classes.
Skyler Leseman, the current point leader in the Jerry’s Auto Supply Street Stocks, continued to assert dominance by taking trophy dash, heat race, and main event victories. Leseman started near the back of the field of the 25 lap feature. Quickly, Leseman wove through traffic to take the lead from Rick Bretches of Ephrata. As Leseman pulled away, a tight battle ensued between Moses Lake drivers Brad Morrison and JR Miner. Morrison took second place in a new car while Miner was pressed hard and finished in the third position.
John Hagood of Ephrata swept the “A” division of the Schaeffer Oil Mini Stocks. Hagood powered his way to the front of the pack with Sid White of Royal City trailing closely. Hagood took the checkers with second going to White. The third spot went to Randall Riley of Moses Lake. Brad Arneson took the top spot in all of the racing events in the “B” division of the Schaeffer Oil Mini Stocks.
Kyle Larr of Ephrata was able to hold off strong pressure from Ethan Smith of Moses Lake in the dash, heat, and main to complete a sweep in the Ephrata Pioneer Muffler II V-6 Super Cars. Cheyenne Baird rounded out the top three.
The Pepsi Racing 360 Sprint Cars suffered from attrition. Joe Smith of Moses Lake led from green to checkers in the feature. Richard Reeves, a rookie driver from Moses Lake, won the trophy dash and took the second position in the heat and main events.
Ephrata Raceway Park will host all local classes on Saturday, Aug. 1. While not on the schedule, the racing is a makeup date for the June 27 races that were postponed due to excessive heat. The August 1 event will be Ephrata Night at the Races. Those who show ID with Ephrata as their place of residence will receive free admission.

Jerry’s Auto Supply Street Stocks
A Trophy Dash: Skyler Leseman
B Trophy Dash: Randy Pugh
A Heat Race: 1) Skyer Leseman, 2) JR Miner, 3) Brad Morrison, 4) Sean Witte, 5) Bill Rutherford, 6) Dylan Heer.
B Heat Race: 1) Ron Stewart, 2) Jim Bise, 3) Rick Bretches, 4) Kyle Childress, 5) Randy Pugh, 6) Gordie DeSanto.
Main Event: 1) Skyler Leseman, 2) Brad Morrison, 3) JR Miner, 4) Ron Stewart, 5) Kyle Childress, 6) Rich Bretches, 7) Jim Bise, 8) Bill Rutherford, 9) Randy Pugh, 10) Dylan Heer, 11) Gordie DeSanto, 12) Sean Witte, 13) John Blackburn.
Pepsi Racing 360 Sprint Cars
Trophy Dash: Richard Reeves
Heat Race: 1) Joe Smith, 2) Richard Reeves, 3) Adam Smith.
Main Event: 1) Joe Smith, 2) Richard Reeves .
Schaeffer Oil Mini Stocks
“A” Division Trophy Dash: John Hagood
“B” Division Trophy Dash: Brad Arneson
“A” Division Heat Race: 1) John Hagood, 2) Sid White, 3) Dallas White, 4) Randall Riley, 5) Kelly Olsick.
“B” Division Heat Race: 1) Brad Arneson, 2) Jeremy Larsen, 3) Jamie Collins.
Main Event (Combined)
1) John Hagood, 2) Sid White, 3) Brad Arneson, 4) Randall Riley, 5) Dallas White, 6) Chase Mulalley, 7) Jamie Collins, 8) Josh Johnson, 9) Jeremy Larsen.
Ephrata Pioneer Muffler II V-6 Super Cars
Trophy Dash: Kyle Larr
Adult Heat Race: 1) Kyle Larr, 2) Ethan Smith, 3) Cheyenne Baird, 4) Chuck Johnson, 5) Greg Wells.
Main Event: 1) Kyle Larr, 2) Ethan Smith, 3) Cheyenne Baird, 4) Chuck Johnson, 5) Greg Wells.

Share This Story!Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPrint this pagePin on PinterestShare on Tumblr