Pages Menu

Community news for the Quincy, Washington, area since 1949

Categories Menu

Posted on Aug 13, 2015

Vintage sprints featured at ERP

A full field of vintage sprint cars from the Pacific Northwest packed the pit area at Ephrata Raceway Park Saturday night. While the cars were vintage sprint cars, the racing action on the track was intense and close. Tim Halliday of East Wenatchee used a last-lap pass to take the checkers and the trophy in the “A” feature. Likewise, Ken Wekie of Vernon B.C. took first place in the “B” feature.



The Jerry’s Auto Supply Street Stocks had a large field of cars seeing action on the quarter-mile track. Ethan Smith of Moses Lake led the main event until veteran racer, Bill Rutherford of Moses Lake, passed Smith going down the backstretch. Rutherford’s lead was brief as JR Miner of Moses Lake shot to the lead two laps later. Meanwhile, Joe Smith of Moses Lake patiently moved through traffic to work his way into the second position after passing Rutherford. While Miner distanced himself from the pack, a great battle ensued between Smith, and Moses Lake drivers Brad Morrison and Ron Stewart. Smith held the second spot until Morrison was able to duck under Smith with only two laps remaining. Miner cruised to the victory and was followed by Morrison and Smith.
Austin Weber of Moses Lake found the perfect setup for his winged sprinter to lead from green to checkers in the Pepsi Racing 360 Sprint Cars. Weber was able to hold off a hard-charging Joe Smith. Smith had to settle for second while Richard Reeves crossed the finish line in the third spot.
John Hagood returned to dominance in the “A” division of the Schaeffer Oil Mini Stocks after missing last week’s racing action due to a blown engine. Hagood swept the field, winning all the mini stock races. Pat Lus of Ephrata took second place, while Royal City’s Sid White took third.
In the mini stock “B” division, Bradd Arneson powered his way to the front of the field to take the victory in the main and complete a sweep. Arneson was followed by Dallas White and Aliah Razey of Soap Lake.
Tyler Larr of Ephrata took over the driving duties in the number 11 car and was able to pick up the main event win in the Pioneer Muffler II V-6 Super Cars. However, Kyle Larr of Ephrata dogged Tyler every time they hit the track. Kyle Larr took the second spot in the main event and was followed by Chuck Johnson of Ephrata.
Jerry’s Auto Supply Street Stocks
A Trophy Dash: Ron Stewart. B Trophy Dash: JR Miner.
A Heat Race: 1. Miner, Stewart, Brad Morrison, Jim Bise, Randy Pugh, Joe Smith, Skyler Leseman. B Heat Race: 1) Ethan Smith, Bill Rutherford, Daryl McCauley, Gordie DeSanto, Kelly Hellewell.
Main Event: 1. Miner, Morrison, Smith, Stewart, Rutherford, Pugh, McCauley, Hellewell, DeSanto, Smith, Bise.
Pepsi Racing 360 Sprint Cars
Trophy Dash: Joe Smith.
Heat Race: 1. Richard Reeves, Austin Weber, Smith.
Main Event: 1. Weber, Smith, Reeves, Kevin Adamson.
Schaeffer Oil Mini Stocks
“A” Division Trophy Dash: John Hagood. “B” Division Trophy Dash: Bradd Arneson.
“A” Division Heat Race: 1. Hagood, Pat Lus, Sid White, Randall Riley, Kelly Olsick. “B” Division Heat Race: 1. Arneson, Dallas White, Jeremy Larsen, Aliah Razey, Josh Johnson.
Main Event (Combined) “A” Division: 1. Hagood, Lus, White, Riley, Olsick. “B” Division: 1. Arneson, White, Razey, Larsen, Johnson.
Ephrata Pioneer Muffler II V-6 Super Cars
Trophy Dash: Tyler Larr.
Heat Race: 1. Larr, Kyle Larr, Chuck Johnson, Gregory Wells.
Main Event: 1) Tyler Larr, K. Larr, Johnson, Wells.
West Coast Vintage Racers
(Non-wing Sprint Cars)
A Trophy Dash: Ken Wekie. B Trophy Dash: Bernie Voytek. C Trophy Dash: Dick Nelson. D Trophy Dash: Doug Frame.
A Heat Race: 1. Butch Duren, Wekie, Al Levien, Bob Pike, Mitt Foster, Ron Massingale, Nelson, Wayne Desabrais. B Heat Race: 1. Jeff Cook, Mike Bell, Tim Halliday, Frame, Chris Drakos, Frank Volz, Rhody Hayes.
Main Event A: 1. Halliday, Frame, Cook, Levien, Voytek, Volz, Hayes, Bell. Main Event B: 1. Wekie, Levien, Duren, Foster, Pike, Massingale.

Tom Beierman/Ephrata Raceway Park