Pages Menu

Community news for the Quincy, Washington, area since 1949

Categories Menu

Posted on Nov 12, 2015

Election Update: Jerene Nelson new mayor of George

For the first time in 24 years, George will have a new mayor come January.
With only a handful of votes left to count across the county, Gerene Nelson is defeating longtime Mayor Elliot Kooy 23 to 14 votes, or 62.16 percent to 37.84 percent.
Earlier this week, the incoming mayor said she was excited to see what the next four years bring.
“I’m kind of excited,” she said. “We’ll see what this all brings.”
Nelson also thanked Mayor Kooy for more than two decades of service leading the small town. Kooy, who was seeking a seventh term, is well respected in the George, where he is a longtime volunteer in a variety of capacities.
“I want to thank Elliot for all of his years of service,” Nelson said. “That’s just incredible — kudos.”
Nelson, 52, has lived in the George area since 1982 and moved into the city in 2009. She is self-employed and is an accountant. Nelson’s husband, Terry Nelson, is a current George city councilman.
Nelson has no agenda moving into the mayor’s position. Her main goal is to “make sure everything goes smoothly for our little town,” she said.
This week, the Grant County Elections Department reported 14,413 votes were counted in the Nov. 3 election. That’s out of 36,712 registered voters in the county.
The general election had a voter turnout of 39.26 percent.
Little has changed from last week’s initial ballot count for the candidates in local races. The election will be certified on Nov. 24, with one more count on Nov. 23.
The results of local races thus far are:

Grant County Port District No. 1, commissioner 3 position
Brian Kuest: 1,021 votes, 59.88%
Jeremy McCreary: 684 votes, 40.12%

George City Council, position 5
Clayton D. Richmond: 21 votes, 61.76%
Clayton L. O’Brien: 13 votes, 38.24

Quincy City Council, position 1
Josey Ferguson: 392 votes, 56.08%
Scott Lybbert: 307 votes, 43.92%

Quincy City Council, position 6
Sonia Padron: 449, 62.89%
Warren D. Lybbert: 265, 37.11%

Quincy City Council, position 7
David Durfee Jr.: 429 votes, 60.51%
Manuel Guerrero: 280 votes, 39.49%

Quincy Cemetery District, position 2
Mike Scharbach: 1,144 votes, 72.87%
Linda Garza Guzman: 426 votes, 27.13%

Quincy Cemetery District, position 3
Jack Gottschalk: 789 votes, 52.43%
Kelly Hobbs: 716 votes, 47.57%


— By Jill FitzSimmons,