Pages Menu

Community news for the Quincy, Washington, area since 1949

Categories Menu

Posted on Apr 29, 2019

Fire district names honorees at banquet

Grant County Fire District 3 held its annual awards banquet for 2018 on April 13 at the Quincy Moose Lodge and had about 126 people attend, including staff, volunteers, support staff, spouses, retirees and guests, according to a press release.
Retirees that were present were Rod Mattson, Gene Reed and Dan Zimmerman. Williamson Farms, of Quincy, was presented a plaque of recognition as Employer of the year.
The district named the following in a press release as having completed classes and receiving certifications.
• Emergency Medical Technician Basic – Nate Aamold, Parker Boersma, Gary Lebacken, Austin Kelley, Tristan Masters, Jason Garrison, Zach Feist, Geoff Hudson, Sierra Rothamel, Ross Massey, Tyler Peters.
• Firefighter 1 – Parker Boersma, Gary Lebacken, Austin Kelley, firefighter Ross Massey
• Firefighter II – Firefighter Mike Ryan
• Firefighter Hazmat Awareness – Nate Aamold, Parker Boersma, Kodie Euper, Gary Lebacken, Tristan Masters, Sierra Rothamel, firefighter Ross Massey, Tyler Peters
• Firefighter Hazmat Ops – Nate Aamold, Parker Boersma, Gary Lebacken, Austin Kelley, Tristan Masters, Sierra Rothamel, Firefighter Ross Massey, Tyler Peters
• Instructor 1 – Luke Garrison and Tyler Peters
• Emergency Vehicle Technician (EVT) pumps – firefighter Ross Massey
The district also named the following awards for 2018:
• Most Active Volunteer of the Year for the District: Gabe McKay
• Chief’s Award: Sonia Padron
• Rookie of the Year: Colin Duggan
Station awards for the most active at their station:
• Gabe McKay, Station 30/31 (Quincy)
• Arnulfo Ramirez, Station 32 (Winchester)
• Londa VanKirk, Station 33 (Block-71)
• Ethan Williamson, Station 34 (Low-Gap)
• Doug Batey, Station 35 (George)
• Cliff Affeldt, Station 36 (Sunland Estates)
• Randy Zolman, Station 37 (Crescent Bar)
Outstanding members recognized were: DeDe Brown, Gene Reed, Eric Nieuwenhuis, Luke Garrison, Gregory Berndt, Scott Cook, David Hubbard, Ethan Williamson, Doug Batey and Jack Kling.
Service awards for Grant County Fire District 3: 10 years of service, Michele Talley; 15 years of service, Stephen Boswell; 30 years of service, Anthony Leibelt; and 30 years of service, Jim Kling.
Volunteer firefighter Duane Hardt retired after 42 years of service – 33 years with GCFD3.
Mike Ryan and Jordan Cox were pinned for successfully completing their one-year probation as a career firefighter, and Assistant Chief Anthony Leibelt was pinned as the new deputy chief of operations.
The district also thanked Top Gun Catering and Quincy Moose Lodge for catering and hosting the banquet.

By Post-Register Staff